Finding My Place in Science

Why am I doing this? The question on repeat in my mind – an earworm of the most annoying sort because it didn’t even come with a melody. I was alone, staring through a microscope in a dark room lit only by the neon glow of a blacklight. But, this was no disco.

My love of science and my curiosity about the natural world were passed down from my mother, a biology professor and inquisitive human. Because of her, science has always been a part of my life. Making observations in my college science classes came naturally, as did asking questions and forming hypotheses. I struggled, and sometimes persevered, through my search for evidence to solve large and small mysteries as a graduate student. I was a woman on a quest, fueled by my desire to understand the natural world.

Read the full story at COMPASS.


Leave a Reply

